For members only: RMMWA's listserve is a "MUST DO!" It provides a great place to ask questions, post exciting news, and get up-to-date publishing info. If you aren't on the list, send your membership request to Yahoo Groups today!




December 10th
Noir at the Bar

January 14th
Author Platform 101

PODCASTS Teasers: (Members, please log into the "Members Only" section of the website for the full version. Need help with the link, contact the webmaster.)

10-8-2015—Forensic Facial Reconstruction - Keli Rae
5-14-2015—Mass Murder - Stephen and Joyce Singular
4-9-2015David Morrell
3-12-2015—Jane Cracraft PI
2-12-2015—Sami Jo Lien "Publicity 101"

A few things to crow about:

ELLEN BYERRUM will be signingcopies of THE DOLLHOUSE IN THE CRAWLSPACE on Small Business Saturday, Nov. 28, at The Bookies, 4315 E. Mississippi Ave, Denver, CO, 80246 from 2 to 4 p.m.

The new anthology BORDERLINE NOIR includes Manuel Ramos's story "No Hablo Inglés"—a piece he wrote years ago for an online magazine. Craig McDonald, the editor of the special issue, diligently worked on finding a traditional publisher and finally got the collection into print as well as an e-book edition. The story is also inTHE SKULL OF PANCHO VILLA, in a slightly different version. Launch party was November 10 in Dublin. Manuel would have loved to have been there.

The second in Laura DiSilverio's Book Club Mysteries series, THE READAHOLICS AND THE POIROT PUZZLE, comes out on December 8th. In this outing, Amy-Faye and the Readaholics must investigate the murder of her brother Derek's business partner. The murder happens during the grand opening of Derek's brew pub, which is bad for business, both his and Amy-Faye's, since she organized the event. Will Murder on the Orient Express, the classic mystery the Readaholics are reading this month, help them sort through the clues?

TOM & LUCKY (Bloomsbury), Chuck Greaves' fifth and latest novel (Nov. 3), has been hailed by the Wall Street Journal as "Boisterous historical fiction" with "the wild energy of a 1930s Warner Bros. crime-movie . . . Mr. Greaves is one helluva good storyteller."

Terry Odell is proud to announce that her short story collection, SEEING RED, was awarded the Silver Falchion in its category at Killer Nashville. She's especially delighted because the other
finalists included C.J. Box, Jeffery Deaver and Craig Johnson. For more information visit her website at http://terryodell.com. Whoo hoo! Way to go Terry.

Also, Terry's fifth Mapleton Mystery, Deadly Places: A Mapleton Mystery Novella, releases officially on November 9th at most e-tailers. Early review: "DEADLY PLACES is the best Terry Odell thriller yet. Great pace, great plot." —John Yeoman, author and creative writing instructor.

Mike Befeler, our former Chapter President, announced the release of his historical mystery novel, MURDER ON THE SWITZERLAND TRAIL, October 21, by Five Star, a part of Gale/Cengage Learning. It's availalbe in print and e-book. In MURDER ON THE SWITZERLAND TRAIL a Sunday excursion in the mountains above Boulder, Colorado, in 1919 leads to murder as intertwined lives play out a mystery on the Switzerland Trail railroad. Policeman Harry McBride must figure out who the murderer is before the train reaches the Boulder station on the return trip. Mike is now residing in Lakewood, California.

Jennifer Kincheloe's book THE SECRET LIFE OF ANNA BLANC, got a Booklist Starred Review. “Delightful…. Anna is a wonderfully independent character. Fans of Rhys Bowen’s Molly Murphy and Kerry Greenwood’s Miss Phryne Fisher will become fast friends with Anna Blanc.” -Booklist, STARRED REVIEW. the book is due out November 3rd.

Catherine Dilts is happy to announce the September release of the second novel in her Rock Shop Mystery series, STONE COLD CASE. Rock shop owner Morgan Iverson’s discovery of human remains reopens a sixteen-year-old cold case and unhealed wounds in a Colorado mountain town, while her find of a rare gemstone sparks a dangerous treasure hunt. A Sasquatch look-alike may hold the key to both a prom queen's death and the location of the gemstone. As she begins to uncover the past, Morgan becomes the target of someone determined to keep the truth buried. In book two of the Rock Shop Mystery series, amateur sleuth Morgan Iverson digs into gemstone prospecting to solve a STONE COLD CASE.

Margi Morin Desmond woke up to some wonderful news September 16th. Crack the Spine Literary Magazine wants to publisher her story, "The Burden." Whoo hoo, Margi!

Carol Caverly's publisher is doing a promo for her e-book ALL THE OLD LIONS. It is currently for sale for $.99 on Amazon and B&N. She's also looking for new ideas on how to get some reviews. Anyone have any ideas to share with her and the group?

Bruce Most has a new mystery novel coming out in mid-September from Black Opal Books. MURDER ON THE TRACKS is the first in his Stryker series. Set in Denver against the backdrop of post-war America, this books promises to be a winner. The book is now available for pre-order at Black Opal Books.

Mark Stevens's new book LAKE OF FIRE will be out September 8th. His launch signing will be September 21st at the Tattered Cover, 7301 S. Santa Fe Dr. (Aspen Grove Store) in Littleton, CO. Please join him, or if you can't, consider ordering from The Tattered Cover.

Chris Goff's book launch for her debut thriller, DARK WATERS, is scheduled for Thursday, September 24th at 7:00 p.m. at the Tattered Cover Bookstore, 2526 E. Colfax. DARK WATERS is an explosive thriller set amid the Israel-Palestine conflict, one that mirrors global headlines and will have readers frantically turning pages. It's been getting some good reviews, the latest from Booklist: "Goff, known for her intriguing mysteries, reveals a knack for thrillers...Goff has a winner with Raisa as a series lead. A sure bet for fans of international thrillers." Please join her to celebrate, or if you can't, consider ordering from The Tattered Cover.

Mark Stevens, RMMWA VP, took the Colorado Authors' League prize in genre fiction for his novel TRAPLINE, thrid in his Alison Coil mystery series published by Midnight Ink. The award was presented in May. TRAPLINE also won the Colorado Book Award for Mystery Fiction in June. Way to go Mark!

Carter Wilson's third title, THE COMFORT OF BLACK, came out August 4 (Oceanview Publishing). It recently received a starred review in Publishers Weekly, who called it an "outstanding paranoid thriller," and NYT bestselling author M.J. Rose had this to say: "From the very first shocking, irreverent and chilling line you know THE COMFORT OF BLACK is anything but your average thriller. It’s an exemplary thriller. A knock-your-socks-off-thriller." It will be available in hardcover and e-book. The link to the Amazon page is here:

Two RMMWA board members, Darla Bartos and Susan Paturzo have some great news to share. Both are finalists for the coveted EVVY award from Colorado Independent Publishers Association (CIPA). Both are nominated in theFiction Mystery & Detective category. MIDNIGHT IN MALAMULELE by Darla Bartos and KILLING STREAK by Merit Clark (aka Susan Paturzo). KILLING STREAK is also nominated for an award in Cover Design. Way to go! Whoop, whoop, whoop! Good luck to both of you.

Boulder, Colorado, May 26, 2015—Mike Befeler's non-fiction book, For Liberty: A World War II Soldier's Inspiring Life Story of Courage, Sacrifice, Survival and Resilience (ISBN 978-0692444603), is now available from Green Leaf Publishers, priced at $19.99.

New RMMWA member, Cynthia Kuhn was one of two recipients–along with Keenan Powell–of The William F. Deeck-Malice Domestic Grant for Unpublished Writers (of Mystery).  The grant was awarded at the Malice Domestic convention in Bethesda, MD on May 2, 2015. Also, she has signed with Henery Press for a new academic mystery series. The first book will be out in 2016. Look for more information on her website.


Mark Your Calendars!
(See Authors page for author signings)


December 10th—Noir at the Bar

January 14thAuthor Platform 101 with Liesa Malik

Feburary 11thMystery Author Ausma Khan, who writes a Muslim detective

March 10thDisecting Noir
with ZJ Czupor

April 14th

May 12th